Donald Christy, Santa Fe police sergeant, school resource officer

Jody Ellis, founder of Santa Fe Community Orchestra

Albert Gallegos, Our Lady of Guadalupe parish

Robert Guidice, volunteer Hope House,

AIDS housing

Ernest Gonzales, Kuane Elementary

School mariachis

Annabelle Montoya, People of Color

AIDS Foundation

Nellwyn Trujillo, Literacy Volunteers of America

Koie McCauley, Salvation Army, United Way, St. Elizabeth Shelter volunteer

Karen Walker, Realtor, city home-rule movement

Carol Vigil, domestic violence commissioner, District Court


Judith Scarvie, The Food Depot

Ross Martinez, Española literacy volunteer Paul Margetson, part owner of Hotel Santa Fe, youth soccer, United Way Beatrice Nevares, Bienvenidos Outreach Program

Alfredo Ortiz, Boys State volunteer Ernesto Ramos, New Mexico Senior Olympics

Herb Kincey, St John’s College Search and Rescue

Linda Craig, Pojoaque Valley Soccer League Felix Trujillo, Taos Feeds Taos

Palemon Martinez, Rio Arriba

Cooperative Extension agent


Charles Maxwell, scholarship fund Barbara Gonzales, San Ildefonso

Pueblo potter

Chris Abeyta, community educator

Al Padilla, Boys & Girls Clubs of Santa Fe Dr. Irving Bunkin, Friends of the Library Phil Bové, Acequia Madre preservation Isidora Rael, nursing home volunteer Sarah Atencio, Embudo-Dixon area recycling

Antonio Martinez, Upper Rociado church restoration

Anthony Trujillo, Our Lady of Guadalupe deacon and youth group leader


Chuck Montaño, Citizens for LANL Rights Kevin Bellinger, founder, Harambe youth center Georgia Salazar Martinez, artist, Medanales community development Bruce and Ellen Kaiper, Española teachers Zane Fischer, co-founder of Plan B Dr. Larry Schreiber, Child-Rite Criselda Dominguez, Abiquiú resident Alfonso ‘Trompo’ Trujillo, La Union Protectiva

Mary Venable, White Rock Senior Center Catherine Oppenheimer, executive director, National Dance InstituteNew Mexico


Cookie Jordan, theater residency project

Tony Suazo, Española Santa Claus Fabian Garcia, El Rito deacon

Nancy Zeckendorf, Lensic restoration Michael Siegle, Crisis Response volunteer

Cervantes “Buddy” Roybal, Santa Fe community service

John and Emily Drabanski, Pecos teachers and Big Brothers, Big Sisters program

Don and Nancy Dayton, Santa Fe Search and Rescue, Eldorado community involvement

Dr. Trevor Hawkins, HIV/AIDS treatment Ernie Lopez, Taos teacher


Doug McDonald and Los Alamos firefighters

Roger Montoya, Velarde painter, dancer, choreographer

Fred Nathan, Think New Mexico, for all-day kindergarten campaign

Tom Mills and Bob Skyler, Santa Fe schools management audit

Julia Hudson, missionary teacher at

John Hyson School in Chimayó

Nichoe Lichen, Ann Lacy and

Carolyn Cook for preserving county open space

John Aquino of Ohkay Owingeh, health care and nutrition work with tribes Kyra Kerr, St. Bede’s-Ortiz Middle School Partnership

Freddy Martinez, Little League baseball,

World War II hero

Christiana Torricelli, The Food Depot and Cerro Grande Fire relief


Dale Ball, conservation and public trails Glenn Burttram, Montezuma Lodge Maryana Eames, cancer survivors work Dani Frye and Neva Van Peski, League of Women Voters

Betty Kersting, Habitat for Humanity Jose C. Martinez, youth sports

Tessie Naranjo, Native language preservation

Sylvia Ornelas, La Familia, teen parent and pregnancy issues

Bruce Richardson, Chimayó Crime Prevention

Mary Williams, foster parent


Diane Albert, science-education specialist, Los Alamos County Council Bill and Georgia Carson, Salazar Elementary School volunteers

Aaron Griego, youth programs in Dixon

Guy Monroe, El Dorado Fire and Rescue

Dave Neal, Pojoaque Schools Capital Committee

J. Patrick Lannan, Lannan Foundation

Gene Valdes, United Way,

St. Elizabeth Shelter, church volunteer

Maria Cristina Lopez and other founders of Somos Un Pueblo Unido

Kathy Sanchez, Tewa Women United

Daniel Lehman, St. Michael’s student/El Castillo volunteer


Jose Benito “Ben” Garcia, scholarship fund for Pojoaque students

Charlene Teters (Spokane), IAIA artist who has led charge against using Indian insignia by sports teams

Dick Roth, lobbied for ignition interlock

Arthur Hemmendinger, repairs cassette players for the blind

Doris Krause, cares for Alzheimer’s patients

David Ortiz, active in

Pojoaque regional water planning, acequia issues

Chris Pederson,

Capital High teacher and mentor

Ilean Martinez, organized for clean drinking water in Chimayó

Dr. Murray Ryan, physician, raised awareness about heroin overdoses in Rio Arriba County

Susan Rojas, Kuane Elementary volunteer, retired teacher


Arlene Einwalter, Gerard’s


Bob Pierce, computer fixer Mike Naranjo, Rock Christian Outreach Church

Wes Studi, actor

Apryl Miller and JoAnn Sartorius, Suicide Intervention Project

Griff Dodge, cross-country coach

Scott Abbott, teacher, church volunteer, Habitat for Humanity Robin Reindle, Pecos Schools PTA

Jacqueline Rae Gomez, Pojoaque High student

Alia Munn, Second Street Experience


Judy Espinar, International Folk Art Market

Salome DeAguero, retired educator, senior service advocate

Stewart Youngblood, Assistance Dogs of the West

Thomas Romero, El Museo Cultural

Sara Melton, land-use planning, preservation

Clark Case, community radio station, co-op in Dixon

Yolanda Colorado, Pat Greathouse and Eddie Hernandez, Little Mozart and Mariachi program, youth symphony and music programs Connie Tsosie, Pueblo Opera Program

Diane Granito, Heart Gallery adoption project

Rebecca Donohue, school counselor


Carlos Martinez Sr., preservation of cultural and historical traditions

Joe Maestas, Santa Cruz Irrigation, and Ray Romero, La Cienega, acequia advocacy Shirl Abbey, care of elderly

Maynard Chapman, Food for Santa Fe

Anne McCormick, Many Mothers

Sarah Rochester, visiting nurses

Peter Doniger, tax assistant Rosemary Crawford, children’s theater

Valdez Abeyta y Valdez, youth advocate, community activist


Monica Lovato, boxer

Mary Louise and Gordon Betancourt, youth sports, delinquency, at-risk teens

Fred Bender, education reform, Boys & Girls Clubs Julia Abeyta, Native American education

Dianne Baros, Pojoaque youth sports

Donald Stout, gay rights Barbara Wolff, medical disaster assistance

Marcella Ortiz Gonzales,

St. Anne Parish

Friends of the Library, new Southside Branch Library Virginia Wilson, National Alliance for Mental Illness






Santa Fe New Mexican