Previous honorees


The Rev. Jim Brown, First Presbyterian


The Honorable Petra Maes, First Judicial

District Judge

Sisters Patrick Marie and Shirley Le Blanc, Villa Therese Clinic

Margo Brace, Rape Crisis Center

Gary Bequette, law enforcement

Rep. Nick Salazar, state lawmaker

Al Sanchez, DeVargas Savings

Dan Namingha, Native American (Hopi) painter

Don Chunestudey, sculptor, teacher


The Rev. George Salazar and Dan Padilla, St. John the Baptist Church Jane and E.B. Hall, P’OAE PI Gallery

Hoyt Mutz, high school coach and counselor

David Gurulé, Santa Fe Group Homes Darby McQuade, owner, Jackalope Pottery Rain Parrish, Wheelwright Museum Ramona Chavez and Marie Roark,

Los Amigos del Valle


Sister Shirley Le Blanc, Catholic Sisters of Charity

Mary Lou Cook, founder of Santa Fe Living Treasures

Rena Paradis, Literacy Volunteers

Joe Schepps, developer and philanthropist

Arturo Gonzales, La Familia Medical Center Jacquie Stevens, potter

Elaine Juarros, teacher

Sarah Grace, New Mexico AIDS Services Orlando Hernandez, animal shelter Dorothy Wade, volunteer


Sam Arquero, Cochiti Pueblo

Ann Dasburg, community and international justice activist

Alfonso Garcia, teacher and principal Lynn Kelly, New Vistas

Andrew Shea, founder, New Mexico Repertory Theater

West Side Residents, United Farrocarril


Douglas Schwartz, president, School of

American Research

Gilberto Romero, mental health advocate Joe C’de Baca, District Attorney’s Office Don Schmidt, AIDS Services


Molly Whitted, former director of

Santa Fe Beautiful

Gloria Sawtell, Santa Fe Community Foundation Hilbert Sabin, Inter-faith Council,

Peace Alliance

Arturo Gonzales ,La Familia Medical Center director

Michael Riccards, St. John’s

College president

Paquita Hernandez, founder of

Celebrate Youth!

Larry Bandfield, founder of Santa Fe Desert Chorale Albert Ortega, Alvord Elementary School principal Ellen Biderman, Ellyn Feldman,

Susan McIntosh and

Londi Carbajal, Santa Fe Children’s Museum co-founders

Anita Shields and Tina Lopez-Snideman, SFCC Women in Transitions program


The Rev. Shirley Greene, United Church of Christ, Habitat for Humanity

Julie Padilla, Santa Fe animal shelter

Leslie Nordby, Acequia Madre principal

State Rep. Roman Maes, D-Santa Fe, for landfill legislation

Silver Ortega, city recreation department, involved in local sports

Chris Wells, environmental education,

All Species Project

Edward Ortiz, Santa Fe schools superintendent Connie Trujillo, founder and director of Esperanza Shelter for Battered Families Michael Hamilton, El Parian gallery owner

Thomas Reed, founder of Vivigen genetic-testing laboratory


Carol Decker, Spanish teacher and Vincenes neighborhood program Dan Padilla, St. John the Baptist Soup Kitchen Lenny Roybal, basketball coach

Suzanne H. Garcia, Maternal Child and Health Clinic

Michael Hice, AIDS & Comfort board, community foundation

Linda Espinosa, Santa Fe High security guard

Sam Hitt, forest preservation

Geraldine Salazar, Santa Fe

Rape Crisis Center

Robert B. Gaylor and Linda Klosky, founders, Center for Contemporary Arts

Paula Devitt and Alice Sisneros, nurses, designed “Heartsaver” CPR program


Lorraine Goldman, executive director of Partners in Education Katherine Kagel, owner of Café Pasqual’s and Food Depot organizer

Skip Helms, stockbroker, United Way fundraising Mike Bachicha, tennis pro and fundraiser

Kenneth Siciliano, AIDS activist

Jacob Viarrial, Pojoaque Pueblo governor

Stuart Stein, land-use and water rights attorney in La Cienega

James Rutherford, director of the Governor’s Gallery Gerald Chacon, Rio Arriba agricultural extension agent, ranchers’ rights

Francella Perea, teacher,

teen parent center


Jóse Rámon López, awardReinhardt, winning Spanish Colonial santero

Ana Gallegos y founder of Warehouse 21 John Stephenson, founder, Santa Fe Community Garden

Art Sanchez, city councilor, advocate for purchase of water system Diane Reyna, Taos Pueblo, videographer Al Wadle, gallery owner and volunteer fundraiser for the Santa Fe Community Foundation

Carol Miller, public health advocate and administrator Dottie Montoya, Española Valley High School nurse Richard Lucero, Española mayor, for downtown Plaza Stephen Chambers and Marcy Grace, founders, Hope House residence for people with AIDS


Juan Vigil, owner Stables art space on Canyon Road Nancy Porter, Santa Fe Food Brigade

Peter Chapin, president, Santa Fe Habitat for Humanity

Rebekah Bloom Wolf, middle school student and La Residencia volunteer Florian Artie Garcia, president, Santa Fe CARES Jewel Cabeza de Vaca, Mana del Norte

Mary Karshis, nurse and patients’ advocate at St. Vincent Hospital

José Villegas, La Cienega neighborhood organizer Endelecia Prince, Española ballet teacher

John Cammarata, academic counselor at Santa Fe Indian School






Santa Fe New Mexican